Was your license confiscated after being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Georgia? If so, it is important to understand that you will only have 10 days to challenge the impending suspension. Although you will be issued a temporary license, it will only last for a brief period of time. For this reason, it is imperative that you move quickly to speak with a Savannah criminal defense lawyer from Schneider Lerch Bronston, LLC. In doing so, you can ensure that a hearing is scheduled with the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 10 days of your arrest. If you wait too long, there will be nothing that you can do to contest the administrative license suspension.
Whether you took and failed a chemical test (i.e. breath, blood or urine test) or you refused to take one at all, you stand to lose your license for up to one year if you don't act quickly; fortunately, the legal team at Schneider Lerch Bronston, LLC is well-equipped to provide you with an aggressive defense at your DMV hearing. In order to issue a suspension, the DMV is required to prove that you had either taken and failed a chemical test or that you had violated the state's implied consent law. For this reason, you and your Savannah DUI attorney may be able to save your license by showing that one or more of the following is true:
- Your BAC did not exceed the legal limit of .08%;
- The arresting officer did not have probable cause to stop you;
- You did not refuse to submit to chemical testing;
- Your arrest did not follow specific legal procedures; and/or
- The chemical tests were not administered correctly.
Do you still have time to save your driver's license? If so, you should not hesitate to discuss your case with our firm today. Our Savannah criminal defense attorneys are ready and willing to fight for the reinstatement of your driving privileges, but it is up to you to take the first step. For this reason, we ask you to give us a call today at (912) 385-0854. You may not have much time left!