Savannah Commercial DUI Lawyers
The laws and penalties for driving a commercial vehicle and being convicted of DUI are more stringent than those involving non-commercial vehicles. The legal limit of blood alcohol concentration for driving a commercial vehicle in Georgia is 0.04%. When a commercial driver is convicted of DUI, they automatically will lose their commercial driver's license (CDL) for a minimum of 12 months. At Schneider Lerch Bronston, LLC, our Savannah commercial DUI lawyers know how important it is to keep your CDL in force, as it is the lifeblood of your personal income and occupation.
The situation becomes even more serious if you have been convicted of two or more of the following offenses in the past:
- DUI while driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of over 0.04%.
- DUI while driving a non-commercial vehicle with BAC over 0.08%.
- DUI of any drug.
- Refusal to submit to chemical testing.
If you are a CDL holder and you have been convicted of any two of these offenses, you will lose your CDL for life. It is critical that you contact our experienced and qualified Savannah commercial DUI attorneys to help you fight the charges.
What is a Commercial Vehicle?
During your daily commute, you will likely see a variety of vehicles crowding the Savannah roadways. Though they all travel the same roads, certain cars require special licenses. In Georgia, commercial driver’s licenses are issued to those driving commercial vehicles that transport passengers or property. Commercial vehicles in Georgia usually satisfy at least one of the following descriptors:
- Weigh above 26,001 pounds.
- Are designed to transport the driver and 15 or more passengers.
- Are used to transport hazardous materials.
What are the Penalties for a Commercial DUI Conviction?
CDL drivers who are charged and convicted of a DUI face harsh penalties under Georgia law. If you are convicted of a first DUI offense, you can expect to endure:
- Disqualification of driving commercial vehicles for one year.
- Up to one year in county jail.
- A fine between $300 and $1,000.
- DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program participation, which lasts 20 hours and costs $350.
- At least 20 hours of community service.
- A clinical evaluation to test for drug or alcohol dependency.
- A $210 license reinstatement fee ($200 if requested by mail).
These penalties can become more severe due to certain aspects of your case, such as if anyone was injured or killed. The weight of this situation necessitates prompt legal assistance.
Possible Defense Techniques by Our Savannah Commercial DUI Lawyers
There are so many ways that a qualified, competent, and highly experienced criminal defense team can successfully defend you in a DUI case. Just because you have been charged and even if you yourself believe you were guilty, it does not mean that you cannot have the charges dismissed or reduced. At Schneider Lerch Bronston, LLC, we are committed to protecting the legal rights of our clients, and we do everything possible under the law to help our clients avoid convictions.
At Schneider Lerch Bronston, LLC, you have an entire legal team on your side when dealing with serious criminal matters. We are ready to help you obtain the best possible outcome in your case.