Skip to Content
Georgia Legal Defense
Start With a Free Case Review 912-417-5008

Can a Police Officer Force Me to Take a Blood or Breath Test?


If you are arrested for a DUI, Georgia law requires you to undergo a blood, breath, or urine test. Like many states, Georgia has an implied consent law, meaning if you are stopped by an officer who has probable cause to believe you have been drinking, you automatically consent to taking a chemical test to determine your BAC.

What if I refuse a test?

Should you refuse to take a chemical test, the officer will relieve you of your license immediately in exchange for a 30-day permit. Within those 30 days you can request a hearing to challenge the suspension. If you choose not to request one or lose your hearing, your suspension will last one year.

One month after your suspension begins, however, you can have your license reinstated if you finish an alcohol and drug-use program.

To challenge your blood test or to retain legal counsel for a license hearing, call our firm today


We're Ready to Fight For You

Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (912) 417-5008

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy